Our Lady of the Rocks is the second of two islands in front of Perast, about 115 meters away from the St. George in the north-west. Th stone plateau in the middle of the sea with a shrine is a result of the efforts of generations of sailors who wanted to anchor here in the heart of Bay of Kotor the testimony of their Christian faith and culture. According to legend, on July 22, 1452 the sailors found on a rock in the middle of the sea an icon of the Virgin Mary with a child. From that day there is a tradition that sailors lay stones on the coast of Our Lady of the Rocks. In the middle of the fifteenth century a small chapel was built on the island and the expansion of the island allowed to build in the XVII century a church with a 11 meters high dome in the Byzantine style.
The church was painted by Tripo Kokolja, famous seventeenth century painter from Perast. The icon of Our Lady of the Rocks, which is in the church for centuries, was made in 1452 by Lovro Dobričević. Visitors also can see an unusual tapestry in the church, to which is related a sad love story. Jacinta Rabbit-Miljović was weaving the tapestry for 25 years while waiting her beloved to return from the sea. She weaved in the tapestry her golden hair in the youth and silver in the old age. Our Lady of the Rocks is a unique example of an interesting architectural complex, showing the changes related to the history of Perast. It is interesting that every year on the July 22, Bokelji continue its tradition of restoration of the foundations of the island, when boats deliver stones and put them in depth. This event is called “fašinada” and the aim is to strengthen the foundations of the island of Our Lady of the Rocks so it can continue to adorn the view from Perast.